Who has skied at college ski areas?

mapnutmapnut expert
in NELSAP Forum Posts: 822

Or areas very near a college? Rick mentioned Colby (NELSAP), which was one of the two first areas I skied. It had just one main slope with snowmaking and a fast T-bar, and a beginner slope which I never saw open. The slope started off gentle, with pretty pine trees in the midst of it, then got fairly steep. As a beginner, I think I progressed a lot on that slope. Although my confidence was not greatly boosted the time I lost control and skidded right past the crowd at the lift line, into the bushes on the bank of Messalonskee Stream.

I also skied little Yawgoo Valley, still in business, while at the University of Rhode Island. Apparently it wasn't very memorable.

Comments

• lotsoskiinglotsoskiing expert
    Have skied Dartmouth Skiway and Midd Snow Bowl many times. Both fun in their own ways. Midd has a wider variety of trails and exposures. Dartmouth has better donuts, Midd the better burger. Both worth a trip.

Have heard that sledding at the SLU area is pretty fun but have never done it.
  • BetsyBetsy intermediate
    edited January 19 Posts: 68
    Middlebury Snow Bowl. Love it. Not too small, not too big. Great area for locals as it is not as pricy as the big resorts. Good ski school.  Has the old school vibe. Good cafeteria food (and not crazy $$$). AND a small library should you wish to do any studying!  OH...and the magic carpet lift is free. Great for little ones (or adults) just starting out.
  • joshua_segaljoshua_segal expert

Have skied Dartmouth Skiway and Midd Snow Bowl many times. Both fun in their own ways. Midd has a wider variety of trails and exposures. Dartmouth has better donuts, Midd the better burger. Both worth a trip.

Me too; Also Norwich is on my list of areas that I skied.  I opened a new thread to just put together a list of schools that have/had ski areas.
  • lotsoskiinglotsoskiing expert