States that Don't Require Safety Bar on Chairlifts

2»

Comments

• I am not a lawyer, but it looks like New York State has adopted sections of ANSI B77 2006, including the requirement for safety restraints (see pages 10 and 19-20, here: https://labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/safetyhealth/PDFs/Industry/Code_Rule_32_2010.pdf)
  • I've seen NO safety bar on chairlifts at Mammoth, Alta & Bridger Bowl MT. Probably at another place, but I don't recall?
    Ski Mad World
    A blog of MadPat's World: A History of Skiing Geography
  • None on the chairs at Monarch.
  • MadPatSki said:

I've seen NO safety bar on chairlifts at Mammoth, Alta & Bridger Bowl MT. Probably at another place, but I don't recall?

Alta has recently gotten bars for their lifts or at least most of them. 
  • edited April 24
    All lifts in Maine have safety bars, although I'm not quite sure about the laws.
    Check 'em out here: mainelifts.wordpress.com and go into the database section.
  • We can remove Ski Baba from this list as the lift has been retired and a new covered magic carpet has been installed in its place.
  • mtsnow123 said:

We can remove Ski Baba from this list as the lift has been retired and a new covered magic carpet has been installed in its place.

That was the last in New England
    - Sam
  • TygTyg
    edited April 24
    These resorts I’ve been to and have some lifts without safety bars

AZ
    AZ snowbowl (sunset triple and aspen double)

NM
    Ski Apache

CA
    Mountain High

CO
    Abasin
    Copper
    Hesperus
    Kendall Mountain
    Loveland
    Silverton

WI
    Wilmont

• To Tyg's list, add:

PA
    Seven Springs -- at least one of the chairlifts, maybe two, lack safety bars on the chairs.

Woody
  • Not required in MN on the older lifts. All the newer models had them so I don't know if that's just how they come from the company or the laws changed. I hate riding with no safety bar! It makes me very uncomfortable on a ride I just want to be relaxed on.